Academic Advising

 

The mission of Academic Advising in the UConn School of Engineering is to…

  • Educate a diverse group of students and stakeholders about University and School policies, procedures, programs, and resources.

  • Create active partnerships to support and empower undergraduate students in making meaningful academic decisions in pursuit of their goals.

  • Foster student growth and development toward becoming engaged members of the university community and contributing members of society.

If you are assigned to one of the advisors listed below and would like an appointment, you can book one using: nexus.uconn.edu

NAME MAJORS OFFICE PHONE EMAIL
Armington, Shoshana Undecided Engineering  Regional Campus Engineering
ACES Exploring Engineering
EII 301  860-486-3245  shoshana.armington@uconn.edu
Ephraim, Lisa Biomedical Engineering EII 200B 860-486-0163 lisa.ephraim@uconn.edu
Zoni, Mariel
Associate Director
Mechanical Engineering EII 304 860-486-2479 mariel.zoni@uconn.edu
Losapio, Whitney
Director
  EII 304A 860-486-0512 whitney.losapio@uconn.edu
Lozefski, Althea Civil Engineering  Environmental Engineering Management & Engineering for Manufacturing (MEM) Engineering Physics EII 300 860-486-8079    althea.lozefski@uconn.edu 
Mashmasarmi, Denise Electrical  Engineering,  Computer Engineering EII 200C 860-486-5913 denise.mashmasarmi@uconn.edu
Ziter, Dana Computer Science & Engineering
Computer Science
EII 200D 860-486-8950 dana.ziter@uconn.edu
Zoni, Mariel
Associate Director
Chemical Engineering
Materials Science & Engineering 
EII 304 860-486-2479 mariel.zoni@uconn.edu

 

Advising in the School of Engineering is mandatory for every student, every semester.

Academic advising in the School of Engineering is done jointly by trained professional staff and faculty advisors. Faculty advisors and professional staff advisors are assigned to new and continuing School of Engineering students according to the student’s major.

Typically, first- and second-year students are assigned to a professional staff advisor who assists students in their transition to college, aids students in navigating the University, and collaborates with them in course selection and academic planning.

Faculty advisors typically meet with engineering students with junior or senior standing. They assist students in their course selection, counsel them in meeting their educational and career goals, and provide discipline-specific mentorship.

To determine who your advisor is – please check your Student Center on your Student Admin account.